top of page
  • Writer's pictureLizzie

And Datz.. the Dough...


I am a sucker for a good donut.


I am a sucker for pretty much any baked goods… let's be real here.


Since yesterday was my husband’s birthday, instead of getting an entire cake that would sit in the house until I HAD to eat the whole damn thing, Danny and I decided to go to Datz & Dough in Tampa. Now, if you follow me on IG ( @BeautyAndProgress ) you are well aware that this bakery taunts me every. Single. Day. When I get to CAMP… it’s just there taunting me with its clever signage and bready smells. When I leave after my hard work… it’s there luring me in with flavored, spiked coffees.


After almost 20 days of being on my best behavior, I had to give in and what better excuse than a birthday! Danny and I rolled up with such purpose and excitement, we didn’t know what to try first! Since we were there for the birthday boy, we picked him a Peanut Butter Brownie that looked incredible and knocked that out of the way. On to the fun stuff… what were we going to have?!?! Danny and I have a problem with carbs. Our chunky cheeks just want to be filled with sweet, carby goodness and we have trouble saying, no thanks.

Should we get a specialty donut? Or maybe a slice of that delicious looking chocolate cake? Or maybe go nuts and get their infamous black Galaxy Ice Cream? So many choices and we are so hungry.


Dan and the Brookie

Then Dan found the one, the Brookie. His favorite things bundled into one delectable treat. Part chocolate chip cookie and park brownie garnished with cookies and cream and an Oreo on top. The way his eyes lit up made me want to take us both to a cardio class (after we ate it, of course). For me, I went another way. At the very bottom shelf, I caught a glimpse of the prettiest, sparkling pink cupcake I’ve ever seen. There she was, the Strawberry and Champagne Cupcake… I want this one. At this point, the guy behind the counter says to me “That one is full of actual champagne in the cake and frosting, Is that ok?”


"Well hot damn, sir… that is f*xing fantastic."

Strawberry & Champagne Cupcake

Danny starts doing his happy dance and so do I… In front of the newly formed line behind me. We have no shame when it comes to celebrating treats. Now that everyone is having a mini dance party, we happily paid for our treats, laughed and headed out the door.


Fast forward to the dinner we shoveled in to get to dessert. Danny digs into his Brookie, it’s so good. I dig into my cupcake, so sweet and fluffy with a champagne soaked strawberry surprise inside. Then… we all dig into to try Joe’s Peanut Butter Brownie. May the universe have mercy on my soul, it was the most delicious, chocolatey, peanut buttery smooth thing we have ever tasted. Joe looks across the table and me, and then Dan and tries to run but he can’t. That is the community brownie now, and we will fight for it…. And we did.


The incredible Peanut Butter Brownie



The moral of the story is, if you’re in Tampa and you want a Brownie… do yourself a favor and stop at Datz & Dough. When you're done head over to CAMP Tampa behind them and take a Hot Abs & Ass class because you will 100% need to.



And Datz... the Dough!


IG: @datz4foodies




21 views0 comments
bottom of page